Why not RECYCLE?

 

Why not RECYCLE?

1.  Every year nearly 900,000,000 trees are cut down to provide raw materials for American paper and pulp mills. (vi)

2. Paper makes up 40% of our daily trash. (vii)

3. Each person in America uses about 700 pounds of paper a year. (i)

4. Every day, Americans buy 62 million newspapers and throw out 44 million. (i) If every American recycled just one-tenth of their newspapers, we could save about 25 million trees each year. (iv)

5. In 2009, Americans threw away almost 9 million tons of glass. That could fill enough tractor trailers to stretch from NYC to LA (and back!).(v)

6. Americans throw away 25,000,000 plastic bottles every hour.(iii)

7. Recycling one aluminum can saves enough energy to listen to a full album on your iPod. Recycling 100 cans could light your bedroom for two whole weeks.(iv)

8. Over 75% of waste is recyclable, but we only recycle about 30% of it.(iii)

9. The average person generates over 4 pounds of trash every day and about 1.5 tons of solid waste per year.(ii)

10. It takes a 15-year-old tree to produce 700 grocery bags. (vi)

11. Disposable diapers last centuries in landfills. An average baby will go through 8,000 of them! (vi)

 

 

 

  1. http://www.mora.org/docs/publications/moguide08.pdf
  2. Environmental Protection Agency. “Municipal Solid Waste.” EPA. Accessed March 28, 2014.
  3. Green Waste. “A Brighter Shade of Green.” Recycling Stats. Accessed March 28, 2014.
  4. SustainAbility. “Recycling Facts.” Sustainability-Recycling. Accessed March 28, 2014. .
  5. Keep America Beautiful. “Recycling Facts & Statistics.” Recycling in General. Accessed March 28, 2014. .
  6. http://www.epa.gov/reg3wcmd/solidwasterecyclingfacts.htm
  7. http://resourcefulschools.org/facts/
  8.  http://resourcefulschools.org/facts/
4 thoughts on “Why not RECYCLE?

  1. Required to take
    what they don’t want
    Forced to choose
    what they don’t like
    Forced to waste
    all that is left
    all that is unopened
    all that is untouched
    Can we not recycle?

  2. Where does it go? What we didn’t eat
    How long does it stay there? What we didn’t use
    What effect does it have? The waste filling the Earth
    Does nature even care?
    Can an ant kill a bear?
    Well one can’t, but what about 7 billion?
    Hmmmm…..

    A statement from the University of Minnesota notes that, “The food waste produced in the United States each day would fill the Rose Bowl stadium to the top.”
    http://www.growingagreenfamily.com/whats-the-big-deal-with-school-lunch-waste/

  3. Here’s a question. Why do we accumulate so much stuff to begin with? It makes our lives so complicated. We spend so much time and energy storing our stuff, moving our stuff, organizing our stuff, cleaning our stuff. Why don’t we give our some of our stuff away and stop buying so much?

    Here are some questions we can ask ourselves:

    Do I really need to buy new things, or can I shop at a second hand store?
    Do I really need 50 pairs of shoes? A dozen purses?
    Can I donate some of my things to charity?
    Instead of buying a lot of prepackaged foods and snacks, can I buy fresh food and make things from scratch?
    Do I really need to use plastic bottles of water or could I buy refillable ones and leave them in the fridge.
    Do I really need to use plastic baggies to store everything or can I just use glass dishes with lids that I can wash.
    Do I really need to use those plastic or paper bags they give out at the store, or can I carry my own bag with me?
    Do I really need all of those household cleaners I have stored underneath my sink or can I make my own?
    Do I really need to take that piece of paper that man is handing to me?
    Do I really read those magazines I subscribe to?
    Could I buy used books or check them out at the library?
    Can I contact the companies that keep sending me junk mail and ask them to take me off the list?
    Can I get paperless billing on all of my bills?
    Can I use things until they wear out instead of replacing them immediately when they start to show wear or look outdated?
    Do I really need more stuff???

    Here are some good websites/blogs I read related to simplifying our lives by not accumulating so much stuff.

    http://www.livingwellspendingless.com/2013/08/27/clutter-free-forever-vintage-tips-for-an-organized-home/

    http://londonremade.com/why-do-we-accumulate-so-much-unsustainable-stuff/

    http://www.paulgraham.com/stuff.html

    http://simplelifetogether.com/slt062-stop-accumulation-clutter/

  4. Who is guilt of wanting to have it done faster and easier? I know that I am, but at what cost am I getting these “conveniences”. Looking at the future and what I would want for my children I wish that our society would slow down and look at what we are doing. For instance, there is statistic after statistic of how much waste we are accumulating and not much is being done to render the problem. It is time that we did something in our own home. Recycling is the first step in this process. After you reduce the amount of products your buy, and reuse as many items as possible, you should only be recycling or throwing away a bare minimum; at least that is the goal. (1) If everyone made an effort to “Go Green” it would not only set an example to the up and coming generations but also help save our planet. Here are several ways you can convert your family into a more environmentally friendly household.
    • Sort your trash (paper, plastic, glass, aluminum, etc.)
    • Use both sides of any paper
    • Buy products that are recyclable or use recyclable products
    • Buy things with less packaging (bulk)
    • Buy in bulk; Cook in large batches so you can buy in bulk
    • Grow your own fruit, herbs, and vegetables
    • Get organized so you don’t buy what you don’t need (eliminate waste)
    • Eliminate prepackaged foods from the grocery list (not for only health reasons)
    • Make your own household cleaners
    • Go paperless – on billing, subscriptions, books etc.
    • Switch all light bulbs to compact fluorescent light bulbs
    • Turn down your thermostat two degrees in winter and up two degrees in summer
    • Make sure your walls and ceiling are well insulated
    • Check all faucets for leaks and replace with low-flow models
    • Use reusable/cloth grocery bags
    • Use containers to store leftover food instead of plastic baggies
    • Use tap water instead of bottled water

    These are only a few ways to help you get started. There are many websites and blogs related to recycling, reusing, reducing and rethinking.

    (1) http://fun.familyeducation.com/crafts/recycling/47921.html#ixzz3HNxUsEyG
    (2) http://www.usa.gov/topics/enviroment-agriculture/going-green-tips.shtml
    (3) http://simplelifetogether.com/slt062-stop-accumulation-clutter/

Post a connected writing

