Knowing where your food comes from – Continued

I watch my father struggle.

His handsome face showing the years

of trying to keep alive the way of life.

I watch the world close in on him

Pavement covers more and more grass.

He tells me its getting so hard to make it these days

In the business.

He asks if I am ready?

Ready to help feed a nation

That doesn’t seem to care or understand.

Ready for life to depend on the weather and the markets

The weather…always the weather

Ready for a way of life that

struggles against the enclosing world

He asks if I am ready

to grow old before my time

worrying about the momma cows

and this year’s yearling stock

He tells me it’s getting so hard

to make it these days

In the business.

 

Post a connected writing

